YumTum

Fresh food. Fresh start.

Hearty Breakfast Oats November 29, 2012

When I lived in Sweden for a year I remember passing by local bakeries and smelling the unique spice blends of ginger cardamom and even saffron. Whether my Canadian roommate Fiona took inspiration from the Swedes or not, this is the first I’d tried putting cardamom in my oatmeal. It was delicious. I never eat oatmeal without some sort of nuts or fat in it, otherwise I’m hungry in an hour. So I recommend adding nuts or nut butter, or even soy yogurt to this heart oatmeal dish.

 Hearty Oats

1 cup oats

¼ cup wheat germ or flaxmeal or mix

½ cup nuts – walnuts, pecans or almonds

½ cup chopped organic apple

½ Tsp. cardamom

½ Tsp. cinnamon

Cook your oats as directed and stir in the rest! Easy hearty and yummy.

 

Leave a comment